Featured Poem of the Week: “The Art Exhibit” by Tyree Jackson

24 Jun

Trayvon Martin Tribute The Art Exhibit Poem

In this image,

you cannot see,

that I am

damaged, discriminated, stereotyped, racially profiled,

shot at, convicted, and thrown behind bars;

but most of all, I am a victim.

But who can we blame for the burdens I have told?

I am a man of color,

my mother’s son,

now behold.

So it is through this image,

and in my world, a story unfolds.

As I stare voiceless, my lips sealed closed

at the injustices that plague me, consume me

to eventually poison me, and my people.

So stare into my eyes, and tell me what you see?

am I a human being,

or just some violent black offspring?

Who is up to no good,

many police officers would say.

Because,

I am a drug dealer,

woman beater,

rapist

a bastard child

or some dangerous

gang member

who can’t speak proper

and initiates fights.

And it is I,

who strikes fear in

white people’s hearts, because

I’m just another felon.

So I am an uneducated,

unemployed,

black hoodlum,

a by-product from

living my entire life

on the streets.

But most of all, I am

bagged and tagged,

to be buried six-feet deep.

~

About the Author: 

Tyree Jackson is a poet and activist.  He resides in Bronx, NY.

  ~

Spread the poetry revolution by clicking the image to become a fan on Facebook. 

~

Ayvaunn Penn is an award-winning writer and the author of Ephemeral Moments, a book of poetry and short stories from the Christian perspective, available on Amazon.com in the fall of 2013. She is also the founder of Your Black Poets. To receive Ayvaunn’s daily Bible devotionals by email, click here. Click to follow her on Twitter and Facebook.

2 Responses to “Featured Poem of the Week: “The Art Exhibit” by Tyree Jackson”

  1. Leland "Ali" Lawson December 19, 2014 at 5:06 am #

    Very powerful I like this one alot. One!

  2. imladychi February 21, 2017 at 10:39 am #

    Hello, I am a sucker for poetry and so glad that i came across this blog. I recently wrote one called Loving the African Daughter, I would appreciate it if you could read it and let me know what you think. The link is https://whatladychithinks.wordpress.com/the-african-ways/

Leave a Reply

