Featured Poem of the Week: “No Dusty Halo” by Monique R. Muhammad aka GodsButterfly

25 Mar

angel

My mama once told me
Girl, when you get through this
You will shine as pure gold
My whole life I knew
I had a story that MUST be told
But fear of judgment, what other sinners may think
Caused me to retreat
In silence to endure
People behold a butterfly
Knowing nothing of the dark cocoon
Out of which she was born
I’ve been the woman, insecure
Heartbroken and cold
I’ve been the woman in a crowd of people
Feeling completely alone
I’ve been the woman who never thought she was good enough
Trying so hard to please
Taking care of everyone else BUT me
The weight of self-neglect brought me crashing
To my knees
While I was there I called God’s Name
And He answered me
Get up! He said
You have a story to tell
Before you get to Heaven
You must travel through Hell
Now, here I stand
Not an angel, but I am
A witness
That even when we stumble
God’s Blessings still abound
Don’t give me a dusty halo
My eyes are on a starry crown

~

About the Author: 

“My name is Monique R. Muhammad AKA GodsButterfly. I am a native of Akron, Ohio, now residing in the DC/Maryland area. I have been writing since I was a child, and now understand that I have a testimony that must be shared to uplift my people. This poem, “No Dusty Halo”, is a mile marker on my journey.”

 
 ~

Spread the poetry revolution by clicking the image to become a fan on Facebook. 

~

Ayvaunn Penn is an award-winning writer and the author of Ephemeral Moments, a book of poetry and short stories from the Christian perspective, available on Amazon.com in the fall of 2013. She is also the founder of Your Black Poets. To receive Ayvaunn’s daily Bible devotionals by email, click here. Click to follow her on Twitter and Facebook.

12 Responses to “Featured Poem of the Week: “No Dusty Halo” by Monique R. Muhammad aka GodsButterfly”

  1. Monique March 25, 2013 at 3:51 am #

    I’m grateful for the opportunity to share my story. Thank you!

  2. TRACY MUHAMMAD March 27, 2013 at 1:48 pm #

    CONGRATULATIONS! THIS IS BEAUTIFUL. I TOO AM GRATEFUL, TO HAVE HAD THE OPPORTUNITY TO KNOW YOU AND SHARE THE ENERGY OF YOUR CREATIVITY AND WITNESS THE TRANSFORMATION IN YOUR WINGS. I TOO HAVE A STORY TO TELL AND AS MY SISTER, ARE A PART OF IT! MAY ALLAH BE PLEASED.

    • Monique March 27, 2013 at 2:39 pm #

      Thank you! You have helped me grow so much! Love you eternally!

  3. Dorothy October 5, 2014 at 7:49 pm #

    God sent me to your page.I was so down but your poem No Dusty Halo was and still is my life. Thank u Lord for blessing her with such powerful words and strength.. Godsbutterfly

  4. Monique Muhammad October 6, 2014 at 1:13 pm #

    Dorothy, God is so good! I am so thankful that the words He shared through me touched you. Keep your head up, you are a Woman of God!!! Much love and peace!

    • Dorothy Johnson October 7, 2014 at 2:03 am #

      Thank you for those encouraging words during these trying time.

  5. debnohio February 17, 2016 at 1:31 am #

    Monique…. Wow, this is a beautiful poem. I came here via a Pinterest pin that featured the angel. Here is your lovely poem… AND you are from AKRON. I live in Summit County. Twinsburg !!!!!

    • Monique Muhammad February 17, 2016 at 3:00 am #

      Thank you so much! Peace and blessings!!

      • debnohio February 17, 2016 at 3:32 pm #

        Monique…. I so LOVED your poem, I created a pin out of it. Here is the link… IF you are not okay with me doing this… just let me know. I linked the pin to your blog site. ❤
        .

  6. Monique Muhammad February 17, 2016 at 3:37 pm #

    Debra! That is such a beautiful compliment, and very much welcomed! I am so happy that my words were such a lift to you!

  7. LaToya February 19, 2017 at 5:11 pm #

    I’ve been trying to get in contact with you on twitter because I wanted to use your poem in my class. Is it possible to write a short bio on you?

Leave a Reply

