“POET MESSAGE” by Luella Hill-Dudley

13 Sep

I felt words brewing all inside of me

until the words became so strong

that it begin to move my arms

the paper became the floor mat

for my words that is brewing in my soul

 

can’t contain these words

so I have to throw them at you

becoming nausea when I can’t release my words

 

as the words begin to travel alone the line of the paper

it begin to no longer look like paper but a map

drawing me in deeper and deeper

 

Shock at the formation that poetry has me in

I’m wondering what is happening to me?

Looking at first time poets trembling at the mic

Looking at the season poets that leave the mic in sparks

Looking at the poetry movement just igniting more fire inside of me

until one day I had to discover I am a poet

but once when I learned I am a poet

I begin to walk the line of a poet

I begin to allow the bravery of another poet

to become my bravery that took me to the stage

 

then poetry said, ” now you finally made it to the platform

for me to marinated you into poetry juices”

So I am thinking I am working my poetry

but poetry said, “no I’m really working you”

once when you become confortable in your own skin

then I will clip wings to your back

and release you to meet up with destiny

then destiny will define who you really are

For your are more than a poet

Poetry is your platform that about to take you

to the next level.

ARE YOU READY POET?

 

Are you ready poet

to take that journey with me?

~

To have Ayvaunn Penn feature your original poetry on Your Black Poets, click here.

Experience the power of the Penn. Keep writing, stay blessed, & stay tuned to Your Black Poets.

Spread the poetry revolution by clicking the image to become a fan on Facebook, and encourage your friends to do the same.

We turnin’ this world inside out, ya’ll.

Ayvaunn Penn is an award-winning writer pursuing her graduate degrees in dramatic writing and acting. She is also a freelance editorpoet, and spoken word artist. To publicize your poetry events on YBP for free, click here. To like Your Black Poets on Facebook, click here. To become Ayvaunn’s Facebook friend, click here.

Leave a Reply

