Featured Poem of the Week: “I Am More, I Am Me” by Angela Phillips

29 Jan

black woman painting

I was told to become who I was not

I was labeled outside of my name and then I forgot

I forgot who I was when I saw the images

Images portrayed of me that did not represent me

Yet these images were what they expected of me

Just because as far as their eyes could see, these women were the same color as me

Represent me? In what way do you mean?

I am more than just a body that they say is only good for sex

I am more than just a hair style that they say is fake

I am more than my nails that they say the Koreans made

I am more than just my eyes, I have a vision to see that in me lies the ability to be more than just a
drama queen

I am more than just my mouth that they say keeps me from getting a good black man

In my mouth speaks wisdom and truth that those who seek wisdom and truth can understand

I am more than just my legs they weren’t meant to only spread but to be a connector to my hips, my
ankles and my feet so I can walk out my God given destiny with integrity so please

Open your eyes to see past the culturally conditioned society

I am more than what they said I could never be

You see I already existed and there are many more like me

It’s not hard to find me if you are willing to see past the images they only want you to see

Open your eyes and see

I am more, I am me

~

Angela Phillips, Maryland

~

Spread the poetry revolution by clicking the image to become a fan on Facebook. 

~

The founder of Your Black PoetsAyvaunn Penn is an award-winning writer pursuing her graduate degrees in dramatic  writing and acting. Click to follow her on Facebook and Twitter. To have Ayvaunn Penn feature your original poetry on Your Black Poets, click here.

3 Responses to “Featured Poem of the Week: “I Am More, I Am Me” by Angela Phillips”

  1. Monique January 29, 2013 at 3:49 am #

    Love it!!!!!!

  2. godfearingdiva January 29, 2013 at 5:32 pm #

    This is real….This is me!!!!

  3. jwtg January 31, 2013 at 4:57 am #

    Powerful piece!  Thanks.

      God bless you! Theressa

    >________________________________ > From: Your Black Poets >To: j-twesley@sbcglobal.net >Sent: Monday, January 28, 2013 8:52 PM >Subject: [New post] Featured Poem of the Week: “I Am More, I Am Me” by Angela Phillips > > > WordPress.com >ayvaunnpenn posted: ” I was told to become who I was not I was labeled outside of my name and then I forgot I forgot who I was when I saw the images Images portrayed of me that did not represent me Yet these images were what they expected of me Just because as far as th” >

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 149 other followers

