Featured Poem of the Week: “Unrequited” by Miss Quote

24 Oct

You watched me sell my pride to anyone who would buy it.

This fight is only for the strong and careless.

We are not meant to be sterile. There is something healthy about this mess.

When you aren’t around, I’m uninspired. My poetry goes to rest

If you treat it like a disease you will always seek a cure for our side effects.

Today I tasted the salt of your soul and wondered what made you so hypertensive at best.

Who are you without your complex?

Who the hell am I without my perplex?

Even as a coward, you maintain powerful intellect.

The world is your oyster and you don’t even own a pearl necklace?

I watched you with eyes blinking to my sunsets.

We are a defiant merger of sorts.

Human capital with commodities competing at a loss.

Who knew a cut is the same thing as the incisions it aborts?

Our connection isn’t cerebral. This is a colonizing spiritual contort.

Is this why the institution of marriage is less about love and more about courts?

I don’t want this anymore than tricks want magicians to support.

You make this hard even when reason is impotent.

I tore away your body to get to your naked soul.

It is the same reason we pick a flower and put it to our nose.

Spiritual instinct I suppose.

This era is the oasis where all inhibition grows.

It is a glorious day when men smell the burning of their own throne.

My child, there are many ways to love. Just ask your foes.

There is more that protects the hearts from bleeding out onto sleeves.

I have never prayed like this; just ask my knees.

It cannot be helped; emotions grow like weeds.

This fight is only for the strong and careless.

Oh he loved me not, he loved me best.

Unrequited love is always the type of fight that pride never forgets.

~

Miss Quote

About the Author:

Miss Quote is a feminist force of unique talent and poise. Hailing from Montego Bay, Jamaica, which she regards playfully as her heartbeat, she is many things — singer, songwriter, actress, and author. Yet, her definition remains rooted in her spoken word persona, Miss Quote. She first appeared at open mics in South Florida under the mentorship of the late Will “Da Real One” Bell, a celebrated community activist and HBO Def Poet alumni. She can be found these days performing in cities around the globe with great passion and thoughtfullness, wanting more than to empower her audience. Her voice will speak to your mind and sing to your soul.

~

Experience the power of the Penn. Keep writing, stay blessed, & stay tuned to Your Black Poets.

Spread the poetry revolution by clicking the image to become a fan on Facebook.

Ayvaunn Penn is an award-winning writer pursuing her graduate degrees in dramatic writing and acting. To see her writings and services, click here. To have Ayvaunn Penn feature your original poetry on Your Black Poets, click here

7 Responses to “Featured Poem of the Week: “Unrequited” by Miss Quote”

  1. Lee December 22, 2012 at 9:47 am #

    First of all I want to say awesome blog! I had a quick question which I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear your thoughts before writing. I’ve had difficulty clearing my mind in getting my
    ideas out. I do take pleasure in writing but it just seems
    like the first 10 to 15 minutes tend to be wasted simply just trying to figure out how to begin.
    Any ideas or tips? Thank you!

    • ayvaunnpenn December 23, 2012 at 3:07 am #

      Hello Lee,

      I am so pleased to hear that you find YBP to be a delight, and it brings me great joy to offer you advice on your plight. I center myself and clear my thoughts before writing…by writing. Those first 10 – 15 min. are not a plight at all but a grand opportunity to experience literary greatness. You see, those first few moments allow you to purge your mind and get to the meat of what you really want to say. If you are not careful, however, you will lose it if you do not write it down. Write it ALL down. Many a writer finds the perfect beginning somewhere nearer his or her ending. Those first 10 – 15 min. are your bliss and your best friend — but only if you write it down ;-)

      PS: You asked such a great question! Do you mind if I share our little Q & A with the rest of YBP? If so, do you prefer I feature your question anonymously, or can I say that the question came from Lee?

  2. Shanon December 25, 2012 at 3:24 pm #

    I am starting a new online website directory and was wondering if I can submit your site?

    I’m hoping to grow my directory gradually by hand so that it retains good quality. I will make sure and put your blog in the appropriate category and I’ll
    also use, “Featured Poem of the Week: Unrequited by Miss Quote Your Black Poets” as your anchor text.

    Please be sure to let me know if this is acceptable with you by contacting
    me at: shanonwhitman@gmail.com. Thanks

    • ayvaunnpenn December 26, 2012 at 7:21 pm #

      Hello Shanon,

      Thank you so much for your proposal. The Your Black Poets team was not able to reach you at either email address provided. So that we may discuss this further, feel free to email me at ayvaunnpennspokenword@gmail.com

  3. Tricia March 4, 2013 at 4:34 pm #

    Do you mind if I quote a several of your blog posts as long as I provide credit and sources returning to your website:

    http://blackpoets.wordpress.com/2012/10/24/featured-poem-of-the-week-unrequited-by-mi-corazon/.

    I’ll aslo make sure to give you the appropriate anchor-text link using your website title: Featured Poem of the Week: Unrequited by Miss Quote | Your Black Poets. Please make sure to let me know if this is okay with you. Thanks

  4. Cash Loans UK May 18, 2013 at 9:20 pm #

    I’m really enjoying the theme/design of your blog. Do you ever run into any browser compatibility issues? A couple of my blog audience have complained about my website not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Safari. Do you have any ideas to help fix this problem?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 156 other followers

